Conviction for drinking and driving in Pennsylvania can have a devastating impact on every aspect of your daily life. If it’s not your first offense, the consequences can be pretty severe.
One of the criteria used in Pennsylvania to determine the penalties after a DUI is the number of priors—the more times you’ve been convicted, the greater the subsequent sanctions. Here’s an overview of what you might face.
There’s no mandatory jail sentence for a first offense, provided you fall under the “general impairment” provisions of the Pennsylvania DUI penalty tiers. You will still face fines of as much as $300, but you won’t lose your driving privileges and you won’t have to install an ignition interlock, unless you refuse to take a blood test.
If you are convicted a second time, the judge has the discretion to sentence you to as little as five days or as much as six months in jail. You face mandatory suspension of your drivers license for 12 months and may have to pay up to $2,500 in fines. You will also be required to install an ignition interlock if you have any restricted driving privileges.
All Additional Convictions
For a third and all subsequent convictions, you can incur a two-year jail sentence and up to $5,000 in fines. The court will suspend your license for a year and can order the installation of an ignition interlock for any restricted driving.
Contact Our Office
At Barnard, Mezzanotte, Pinnie, Seelaus & Kraft LLP, we have protected the rights of individuals throughout Delaware County since 1980. We offer a free initial consultation. To schedule an appointment, call us at 610-565-4055 or 302-594-4535 or contact us online